Coordination, Organization, Institutions and Norms in Multi-Agent Systems @ AAMAS 2010 (COIN@AAMAS2010)

Toronto, Canada, {10th | 11th} May 2010

Co-located with the 9th International Conference on Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems (AAMAS2010).

Text and PDF versions of the COIN@AAMAS2010 call for papers are also available.


From "the internet of things" and virtual worlds to the "smarterplanet", through grid, cloud and stream computing, the world is becoming increasingly instrumented and inter-connected. Managing the resultant scale and complexity requires intelligence; in particular an intelligence that is manifested by individual strategies or collective behaviour. Furthermore, system architects have to consider: the inter-operation of heterogeneously designed, developed or discovered components; inter-connection which cross legal, temporal, or organizational boundaries; the absence of global objects or centralised controllers; the possibility that components will not comply with the given specifications; and embedding in an environment which is likely to change, with possible impact on individual and collective objectives.

The convergence of the requirement for intelligence with these operational constraints demands: coordination: the collective ability of heterogeneous and autonomous components to arrange or synchronise the performance of specified actions in sequential or temporal order; organization: a formal structure supporting or producing intentional forms of coordination; institution: an organization where (inter alia) the performance of designated actions by empowered agents produces conventional outcomes; and norms: standards or patterns of behaviour in an institution established by decree, agreement, emergence, and so on.

The automation and distribution of intelligence is the subject of study in autonomous agents and multi-agent systems; the automation and distribution of intelligence for coordination, organization, institutions and norms is the specialised interest of COIN@AAMAS2010.


The goal of the workshop is to bring together researchers in autonomous agents and multi-agent systems working on the scientific and technological aspects of organizational theory, electronic institutions and computational economies from an organizational or institutional perspective. We seek to attract high-quality papers addressing all mathematical, logical and computational perspectives of, and modelling, animation and simulation techniques for, these types of multi-agent systems. Through various information and opinion exchange mechanisms before, during and after the workshop, we hope to generate new ideas, consolidate and develop an (already) active community, highlight future challenges and opportunities, and lead/define (at least part of) the future research agenda.


Topics of particular interest for COIN@AAMAS2010 will include:


The workshop will be part of the AAMAS2010 (Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems) workshop programme, and will take place at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel in downtown Toronto, Canada. Full details are available at


Preliminary proceedings will be available at the workshop. As with previous COIN workshops, revised and extended versions of the papers of both the two 2010 workshops (there will be a subsequent event in the Autumn) will be published in a single Springer LNCS volume. Those revised versions must take into account the discussion held during the workshop, hence, only those papers that are presented during the workshop will be considered for inclusion in the post-proceedings volume.


COIN Bullet  Paper Submission: FEBRUARY, 2, 2010 Extended to FEBRUARY, 9, 2010
COIN Bullet  Notification: MARCH 2, 2010
COIN Bullet  Camera-ready submission: MARCH 12, 2010
COIN Bullet  COIN@AAMAS2010 WORKSHOP: MAY 10|11, 2010


Although the post-proceedings will be published in Springer LNCS, the preliminary proceedings will follow a different format, namely IFAAMAS style. Submissions to COIN@AAMAS 2010 should be a maximum of 8 pages. If using Latex, please use this style file and see this examples of how it is used. For Microsoft Word users, a template is also available. Please note that the submissions should be formatted for American letter paper size, and that your submission must be without page numbers. The length of each paper including figures and references may not exceed 8 pages in this format. All papers must be written in English and submitted in PDF format. Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will attend the workshop to present the work. For submission of papers, please use:


Workshop Chairs:
Jeremy Pitt (Imperial College, London)
Marina De Vos (University of Bath, UK)

Programme Committee:
Alexander Artikis (National Centre for Scientific Research Demokritos, Greece)
Guido Boella (University of Torino, Italy)
Olivier Boissier (ENS Mines Saint-Etienne, France)
Dan Corkill (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
Antonio Carlos da Rocha Costa (UCPEL, Brazil)
Stephen Cranefield (University of Otago, New Zealand)
Virginia Dignum (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Nicoletta Fornara (University of Lugano, Switzerland)
Olivier Gutknecht (LPDL, France)
Jomi Fred Hubner (Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil)
Fuyuki Ishikawa (National Insitute of Informatics, Japan)
Catholijn Jonker (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Christian Lemaitre (Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico)
Maite Lopez-Sanchez (University of Barcelona, Spain)
Eric Matson (Purdue, USA)
John-Jules Meyer (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
Daniel Moldt (University of Hamburg, Germany)
Pablo Noriega (IIIA-CSI, Spain)
Eugenio Oliveira (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
Sascha Ossowski (URJC, Spain)
Julian Padget (University of Bath, UK)
Eric Platon (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)
Juan Antonio Rodriguez Aguilar (IIIA-CSIC, Spain)
Christophe Sibertin-Blanc (IRIT, France)
Jaime Sichman (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Catherine Tessier (ONERA, France)
Luca Tummolini (ISTC/CNR, Italy)
Leon van der Torre (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
Wamberto Vasconcelos (University of Aberdeen, UK)
Javier Vazquez-Salceda (University Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Harko Verhagen (Stockholm University, Sweden)
George Vouros (University of the Aegean, Greece)

Coin Steering Committee:
Christian Lemaitre (Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico)
Eric Matson (Purdue University, USA)
Guido Boella (University of Torino, Italy)
Jaime Sichman (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Javier Vazquez Salceda (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Julian Padget (University of Bath, UK)
Jeremy Pitt (Imperial College London, UK)
Nicoletta Fornara (University of Lugano, Switzerland)
Olivier Boissier (ENS Mines Saint-Etienne, France)
Pablo Noriega (Artficial Intelligence Research Institute, Spain)
Sascha Ossowski (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain)
Virginia Dignum (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
Wamberto Vasconcelos (University of Aberdeen, UK)
George Vouros (University of the Aegean, Greece)